Random/stupid penguin story

Okay, so there’s this lady I work with, named Christine. I don’t remember if I told the story of how I freaked her out a couple of months back in this blog, but I know I probably told some readers personally. At any rate, all that is to say, this story concerns that same woman.

Christine keeps a large supply of random decorations on the top of her cubicle. The “back part” of our cubical is actually a cabinet-type thing, and a lot of people keep decorations up there. Christine keeps, among many other things, a stuffed penguin up there.

Now me, I have an affection for penguins, which predates this whole “March of the Penguins”/”Madagascar”/whatever popular media forum which has latched on to the penguin love craze. I liked penguins before penguins were cool. I liked them back when they symbolized Linux!

So, from time to time, I take her penguin. I stick him on top of my computer. I walk up to people and try to have serious work related conversations while holding a penguin in my hand. It makes people laugh, and I always put the little guy back before I go home. I’ve never kept him at my desk overnight, and Christine has never cared, because she knows I’ll bring him back.

So another coworker, Gail, was at Walgreens recently and she bought me a little present. She decided to get me my own little animal, because I always swiped Christine’s, she figured I should have my own.

The funny part is this: She thought it was a squirrel. So she bought me this little plastic, albeit very lifelike, squirrel which is about the size of a pair of computer speakers next to each other, and was completely shocked to learn that it in fact was a penguin.

So now I’ve got this little squirrel. I’ll admit it’s a cute little thing. I had no idea what to do with it for a while. So I seperated my Darth Maul and Yoda action figures from their duel to the death and now have set them both in battle against the squirrel.

Yeah, there is absolutely no real point to this entry whatsoever. Well, except for this little tidbit….

I got a phone call played on the latest episode of Extralife Radio. If you want to hear it, go over to myextralife.com and download show #95. I don’t use my real name, I use the screen name I occasionally post on their forums with, so don’t listen for my name, listen for my voice. It’s about at minute 27. You can also subscribe to the podcast in iTunes if you have that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

