Weird ducks, weird dreams, and apologies for not being there to shoot stuff

So apparently there was another project for From the Trenches this past weekend. I would like to apologize to all those involved for not committing to coming, because I very easily could have made it.

When I heard about it, I simply resolved to check my availibility when the date was closer. I completely forgot to do so however, thus no Brandon at the Nurses Aid Station. Though I heard someone got their entire face blown off, and given my legendary history of injuring myself at any and all major events associated with my good friend David Butler (pick a monkeywrench concert. Chances are I hurt myself or was hurt somehow at it), I suppose I should be glad, as there is a high likelihood I too would be at work, now faceless.

In all seriousness, sorry guys. I would love to have been there. Should a “next time” occur, I shall endeavor to bring the Bmatt funk. Or something equally witty.

I did end up going shopping on Sunday, as I needed some new work clothes. Also Mom and I went for another walk around French lake. We took some bread with us this time. We were in turned nearly mobbed by a large amount of ducks and three very brave and very loud geese. Ducks are rather strange but adorable creatures all the same. Pictures forthcoming later tonight. Mom’s a darn good photographer.

Edit: PICS!

Nothing major to report. Just another day at work. Kind of slow now since the spreadsheets the company generates daily for all our parts to buy are down at the moment, and I spent this morning handling everything I had out that was ready for buying.

It’s odd, but today isn’t one of those days where I’m constantly worrying about the future. I’m content with the present for now. I mean, sure there are a lot of things I wish I could change, but I feel peace about it, cause I know God’s got that roadmap planned out. I guess you could say I always knew that, but it’s different “feeling” it as opposed to just knowing. If that makes sense. It does to me, I’m just hoping I’m expressing it right.

Oh, speaking of monkeywrench, here’s a funny story about a weird dream I had last night. I dreamed I was about to play in a big concert, like with a orchestra. Ben was playing in it too, him on drums and me on percussion. Before the concert started Ben was putting his drums together, but they were incredibly gimpy. He had no hihat cymbals, but he had some kind of contraption that he was gonig to use instead that only very vaguely sounded like them. I was wondering around backstage trying to find something, I think maybe I was looking for some good cymbals, but then the concert started, so I had to run back to the stage, because for some odd reason it was my job to kick it off.

So I grab a mic, which incidentally looked exactly like that old super-thin mic Bob Barker used on the Price is Right, and say something like “Ladies and Gentlemen, ARRRRRRRRRREEEE YOUUUUUUUUUU READYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!” The crowd cheers. “I SAID, AREEEEEEEEEEEEE YOUUUUUUUUUU READYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!” More cheers “Then LEEEEEEEEEETS DO THIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIS”

Then Ben, who somehow has a hihat now, does the countoff for “Now We’re Getting Somewhere”.

Bear in mind: None of the rest of the band was there. And this was more an atmosphere of an orchestra concert doing classical music. Not exactly our typical place.

Ben and I are playing good, but the rest of the orchestra is HORRIBLE. Out of tune, wrong notes, it’s just ugly. Ben and I look at each other and go “What the crap….??”

Then I woke up. Darn weird dream.

Anyway, back after it. Nobody let me forget the duck-duck-goose pictures. Bmatt out!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

