Teh obligatory Post-Christmas post! (ooh redundancy!)

Greetings to you, one and all, and I hope you have had a very Merry Christmas and are looking forward to an excellent New Year’s celebration!

Clearly, I have had a very busy one, it’s been a week since I updated this darn thing. I’m slipping. It’s happened before, and it probably won’t be the last time.

I spent Christmas Eve and Day at my Nan’s house (for those of you who haven’t yet caught on to this, Nan is the name I call my grandmother). Eve saw the whole huge entire extended family of massiveness there, whilst Day was only the immediate family. We did the usual Christmas story and white elephant gift exchange on Eve, though this year we did something different, rather than split it up into Men’s and Women’s gifts, and have actual stuff people could use and enjoy, they decided to combine it into “one gift per family” and have it composed of funny/gag type gifts, and at the end we’d vote on what was the funniest.

There are two problems I spotted right away with this. One, some people have very different ideas on what is “funny” and Two, I forsee many of the items given out returning next year. Personally, well, most of you know my opinion on messing with Holiday traditions. If you don’t, here it is: I hate it, don’t do it, and if you ask me how I feel about doing it I’m going to be honest and not hold back about it. The elders in my family felt that the whole original idea was making people too “greedy” and hurting feelings, and that this was a reasonable solution to curb that. Okay, I can understand that. But frankly, if people are getting GREEDY over this, then you need to let God deal with that, and not try to provide your own solution. He knows our hearts far better than you, and some of us really enjoy giving and receiving cool stuff that you never would have even thought of otherwise.

Meh, that’s that, done and over with. Moving on. Rather than starting off with all the cool stuff I got this year, I’ll start off with what I gave other people. What my immediate family does, we each draw names to give to, so everyone in the family gets something from someone else. Somehow I ended up with Mom. Helped me considerably cause I already was gonna buy something for her anyway! I got Mom a new dryer (early Christmas present as ours finally broke after years), some new Pajamas, a new Sweater, a bluetooth headset for her cell phone, and….something else, I know it. My fabled crappy memory has risen again!! WOOOOO! Oh right, a new leather jacket! There it goes. Aighty.

My man David gonna be lookin’ awesome when he starts working soon, cause I got him a giftcard to Kohls so he can get some new threads. Hey Holland? Kidnap him and use it to great effect! I know he’s down there with you!!

I can’t talk about what I got Josh, Kat, or my Dad and his family, cause, well, I haven’t given them their gifts yet! And they could be reading this!

Now, onto what I got. Thankfully, the wish lists I provided were very well taken advantage of. First up, these two shirts!
Green Linen Shirt! Requires Level 5!
For the Horde!!

And while Mom was perusing the lovely Jinx.com, she found this new hat for me!

I had Half-Life 2: Game of the Year Edition on my wish list, but Mom did one better with this little collection. Half-Life 1, Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2: Episode 1, and Counterstrike: Source all on one DVD. Gaming awesomeness.

I also now posess the DVD collection of the best Sci-Fi TV show that never should have been canceled, Firefly! Come on over and we’ll watch a couple of episodes.

Uncle Mike drew my name in the aformentioned gift exchange, and he got me both Pirates of the Carribean movies.

Rex and Margie were kind enough to replace my lost copy of Wild at Heart, a book I continually and always recommend, both for men and women, even though it’s about what has happened to us guys and how God can fix it.

That’s about it for now folks. Look forward to catchin’ up with all my Waco peeps when ya’ll get back. Me, I got about another week off from work, so if you’re in my neighborhood, gimme a yell. Later!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

