Could there have ever been a better time for this to happen? Nope.

Today was just another proven example that there is a God, and He loves me. A lot.

So as you all know, Burning Crusade, the World of Warcraft expansion, was released yesterday. And after going to my Dad’s to get my copy and then driving home through nasty traffic, I got home and started installing it. After all that, and downloading the patches, I managed to log in. However, due to the sheer volume of people trying to play at the same time, and the fact that the server had a memory leak issue that the developers missed, the server was hideously unstable. So basically, I got to look around and get a feel for the place. That was about it. I gave serious thought to just calling my boss and not going in, and spend the day devouring the thing, but I decided in the end not to do that. Stupid responsibility.

So at 6:30 am I wake up. And what to my eyes should appear but this view of the outside.


It’s snowing. Again. And the roads? Icy as heck. I flip on the news and see how people who are trying to get out in this mess are crashing left and right.

God, in all his loving mercy, gave me a snow day to fully enjoy my new game. There has never been a more appropriate occasion to utter the word “w00t!”

So I did. I played a lot. Not all day, mind you, but a lot. Enough to take my first post-60 level (61 obviously) and get a few new pieces of gear, level up my professions, and in general have an absolute blast with all the guys I know, especially David. I got a couple of screenshots to show ya


This first one is actually before I installed Burning Crusade, it’s just me and Jeff’s characters standing side by side. Cause we be cool like that.


This is A’dal. He’s the leader of the city of Shattrath. He’s a naaru, an angelic being of pure good and sheer power. Shattrath is a sanctuary city that houses refugees from the war with the demons as well as serving as a military base against them.


Later that day, I made a run into one of the new dungeons. This place was called the Blood Furnace, an outpost run by the evil Fel Orcs. As we ventured in, we discovered that the orcs were using the blood of a captured demon Pit Lord named Magtheridon in order to turn ordinary orcs into Fel Orcs. And as for this guy, Broggok, we have no idea what he is, but he’s a big floating head that tried to chomp us, so we took him down. And that’s him, dead.


Here I am standing above the grate in which Magtheridon is imprisoned. You can kind of make out the purple magical lines which bind him to that place. It’s not the best shot, I know.

Finally, here’s Dahkar, at level 61, after a hard day of kicking demon and Fel Orc butt. The war against the demons isn’t even close to over though, and we’ve got a lot ahead of us before we’re ready to end this.

So hope you enjoyed that. Now it’s time for the tacos. Night!

EDIT: I forgot to do this again!!

    • Josh
    • January 19th, 2007

    So, I got off work Monday because of ice (which is actually unfortunate, as Monday is the only day I work a full day, and so thereby I forfeited my pay…) But it was a good day overall (and really not all that icy). But I hear Dallas got hit much worse off than we did. I wish we had gotten snow!

    • godzwarrior
    • January 19th, 2007

    Who hit 60 last night?? Um… that would be ME!!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

