Metal, rock, and white-boy hip hop

Ladies and Gentlemen…

Gentlemen…

Gentlemen…

Welcome to…

to…

to…

NEW MUSIC TUESDAY!!!!!

Yes I know its Wednesday. But I bought them yesterday. So shush it!

I bought the following new albums

The Showdown – Temptation Come My Way

Red – End of Silence

Relient K – Five Score and Seven Years Ago

tobyMac – Portable Sounds

I am enjoying them all immensely. Not gonna do full reviews here, mostly because I just did some last entry, and I haven’t had time to fully listen to all of them and get a “whole sense” of the album. I will however, give some early thoughts and reminisce!

I have mixed feelings about the Showdown’s first album, “A Chorus of Obliteration”. Musically, it’s one of the better metal albums I’ve ever listened to, and I would have bought it in a heartbeat if not for the fact that I cannot STAND the singing, or rather, the lack thereof. A lot of people herald the album’s screaming as a key factor in what makes The Showdown different, but it was extremely distracting for me, and I could not truly enjoy the album. Don’t get me wrong, I likes me some screaming and some guttural vocals, but frankly in my opinion, they just weren’t GOOD at it. So I was extremely happy to hear a recommendation from the man David Butler that the new album had retained the awesome musical style but there was less screaming and more actual singing. And upon listening to it, I have to say that not only is there less screaming, there’s practically none. I didn’t imagine so drastic a change, but I do like it, a lot. In fact, this new album reminds me a lot of old-school Metallica. It has that same feel to it. “Temptation Come My Way” is an awesome metal album that despite its older metal sound is definitely, in my view, an excellent progression for this band.

The message of tobyMac’s new CD comes off as kind of a continuation of the theme he established in “Welcome to Diverse City”. Which is not a bad thing, because that album was face-meltingly awesome, but if you expect something new and groundbreaking here, you aren’t going to find it. If you don’t hold it up to that high expectation, I think you’ll like this CD. Boomin’ and Feelin’ So Fly are my current favorites, but I haven’t listened to this one enough to let it come into its own, so we’ll see what eventually emerges from this one. Oh and the new TruDog track is hilarious, as always. He’s growin’ up, and it’s more obvious he’s Toby’s kid than ever.

Relient K’s new CD seems a lot more upbeat than Mmhmm, more joyful that lamenting. I don’t hear any real big evolution in their sound, which I think is great. I love Mmhmm and this CD is a great follow up to it. “Must Have Done Something Right” is a cute little love song too.

End of Silence is shaping into a great rock album. I’m liking this band quite a bit, it’ll be interesting to see how they shape up over the years.

Like I said, more thoughts later as I get more immersed into these.

So, weird thing, I get to work today, and it goes pretty much like usual, and the guy who’s over procurement at Plant 5, basically my boss’s boss, tells me I’ll be moving soon, to the trailer next over, where the other buyers are. Apparently he wants all forgings buyers over there, because that’s where they cleared space for my boss at. So then later on, Michael, the other forgings buyer, comes by and says “Hey, when ya movin?” So I go over there, and it turns out, our desks are cleared. So, I moved over to a new desk today. Still workin’ the same thing, still have the same boss, just moved locations over to the other trailer. Pretty odd turn of events for the day. Hopefully this will calm it all down, and it looks like my boss will finally get over here.

Hoping and praying that Juarez is goin’ well for all my homies over there. Lookin’ forward to seein’ ya’ll again. Of course, you can’t read this, heh. I should be down there the weekend of the 23-25th…give ya’ll a week to get acclimated back into life again before dealing with entertaining the Bmatt again.

Night gang.

No, no kitty pic here…too tired.

    • godzwarrior
    • March 20th, 2007

    i cant believe im saying this but i have to agree that portable sounds is truly cool. especially Boomin’

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

