weeeee music nerdout time!

Hey again gang.

I could spend an inordinate amount of time metal-nerding about the awesomeness of Becoming the Archetype’s new album, “The Physics of Fire”, right here. Because, as David put it, it covers “one of my favorite subjects”. Which is true. I like fire imagery.

However, I’m not going to do that, because aside from David, who I don’t believe actively reads this, I don’t think very many of you are metal fans. Which is a shame, but that’s for another time.

Instead, I’m going to extol the awesomeness of the celtic punk stylings of Flatfoot 56.

Yeah, you heard that right. Celtic Punk. It’s a punk band with mandolins and bagpipes and similar instrumentation. I would never have guessed that to work, but man, it does.

I’ve got their 2 newest albums, Knuckles Up (which is actually a re-release I think) and Jungle of the Midwest Sea. I don’t really know how to describe them beyond the fact that they are just….FUN. They’re upbeat, fast-paced, and fun to sing along to., even on the occasional song where they deal with harsh realities.

And frankly, I don’t believe I’ve ever heard a more awesome rendition of Amazing Grace than on Knuckles Up. In fact, someone go tell the Dwelling Place praise band that they need to cover it one night. I will take off work to come see that happen. Go download the song somewhere or buy it off iTunes or something. I think you’ll agree with me.

This is seriously music you can dance and just have fun with, and I love it. Been in a metal kick lately, which isn’t really depressing, it makes me more mellow, introspective, and angry at Satan. At which point I usually start reveling in thought of the day when the Holy Wrath of God will be unleashed in typical metal fashion. Rawr!

Go give it a try, seriously it’s awesome.

Gotta boogie for now though. Catch ya’ll around.

My LOLCats repository is down at the moment, so I’ll give ya double next time!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

