Sword and Laser….of the SPIRIT!

Being something of a fan of Science Fiction and Fantasy works of various sorts, I was rather happy to discover the existence of the newly-formed online book club known as “The Sword and Laser”. It was started by former CNET podcaster Veronica Belmont, and recommended on Extralife Radio. You can check out the website here. I totally figured it’d be a great way to get introduced to new books that I hadn’t heard of before.

Well, the first book they’re reading is called “The Golden Compass”. They’re doing this one because a movie based on it is currently in the works. Fair enough. So I decided at some point I’d pick up the book and read it.

That is, until this was brought to my attention.

Yeah. I think I’ll skip this one.

Besides, my Dad just gave me a copy of Star Wars: Cloak of Deception, by the awesome James Luceno. Frankly, sounds a lot more enjoyable.

Hope ya’ll had a great week. Hope David and Josh (and their wives, on the off chance they read this) are enjoying being married men. Hope all my Waco peeps are doing fantastic.

Speaking of Waco, one of ya’ll leave me a comment/write on my facebook wall/call me and tell me what if anything is being planned for a Halloween Outreach. Just so I can keep ya’ll in my prayers that particular night.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

