new movehs

I went to Barnes and Noble this past Friday night. While I found nothing new and awesome to read at first glance, I decided to check out their DvD selection. Found a couple of good movies, one of which I never had seen before, but turned out to be awesome.

The first one was Alien vs. Predator, unrated edition. I have no idea what the differences between the unrated and the rated versions are, but there seems to be some additional scenes that weren’t in the rated version. I know this movie got panned by critics, but for a good old fashioned monster fight, especially for old fans of these two movie series, it delivers pretty well, some very good action. It’s one of those movies (kind of like Transformers) that in a lot of people’s opinion should not have had so much human story, and more of the aliens kicking each other’s butts. And it’s not overly gorey at all, at least not for the humans (Predators get impaled a few times though).

The other film I got was Hellboy. If you’re not familiar with Hellboy, it’s a comic book series. Look it up on Wikipedia. Basically, he was a young demon summoned by a Nazi cult during WWII, but US soldiers found him and cared for him. In response to the ride of occultic activity the Nazis were employing, the US forms the Beareau of Paranormal Research and Defense. After WWII ends, the Beareau exists to investigate and destroy paranormal threats. Hellboy, raised by the human scientist who took him in, is now their main agent. The movie deals with his origins, relationships with other members of the Beareau, and an ancient demonic theat.

Sounds really weird, but it’s AWESOME. Ron Perlman stars as Hellboy, and based on this performance alone, he is now one of my favorite actors. Highly highly underrated at his craft. He’s got a very dry wit that lends itself well to the role. I like the character concept, a demon who fights for the cause of good, against other demonic/supernatural threats. Good redemption type of story. Highly recommend if you want a good action movie.

By the way if you’ve ever seen my living room, you know it’s full of old Coca-Cola memorabilia. Well…it was. This weekend Mom and I got new wall items (a mirror, a framed print, and a new shelf) and a new coffee and end table(s). All the Coca-Cola stuff is out of that living room. I can hardly recognize the place now! But I like it a lot. It was a beating to put up the mirror though…that thing is HEAVY and requires being nailed into studs obviously. Well, my studfinder is apparently out of calibration, because we missed them a lot. But they’re securely attached to the wall now and look great. I’ll post some pics later.

I want to come to Waco this weekend. Anyone willing to put me up? Heh heh.

Aight I’ll catch ya’ll later…sleepytime.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

