The Stones…or perhaps Stoneage….Stone Age?

Christopher and Kelley Stone.

Awwwwwww.

So we got the guy all good and married. It was a fun weekend.

I show up on Friday night, we’re all gonna go out and have some wings, then go do something else fun. Well, we end up deciding we’ll go do Capture the Flag on campus, but we don’t have enough people to make it good, so we decide to play Sardines in Draper instead.

As most of you have probably heard by now, that didn’t exactly end well for us. Somebody, and I suspect it was the cleaning crew, called DPS on us.

Let me backtrack. I found Chris (our initial hider) before the last few people did, and somebody decided they didn’t all want to hide, we should all move around as a group. Which, I should point out, is against the rules of Sardines, last I checked. But, everyone ran off, and Josh and I got seperated from the group because we ran into the guys who hadn’t found Chris yet. So we walk around with them for a while, both Josh and I are mad because neither of us like this idea, and at some point I slipped away, and ran off to look for the group. All of the sudden a DPS officer comes around the corner and orders me to sit down. Tony’s there, he’s already been caught. She starts questioning us about what we’re doing there, and all this mess. Some more DPS officers come out of the elevator, apparently they haven’t found them either. Finally, she asks me to call the others on my phone and get em over here, which I did, though I honestly should have told them to just leave.

Basically they run our names and all to make sure none of us are wanted or anything, then they proceed to tell us that we could be charged with criminal trespassing for being inside a building that is supposed to be closed. But they’re not, they’re just going to let us go. So all’s well, right?

Uh, no. Not at all. For one thing, the doors were not locked. You can’t charge us for trespassing on a college campus when the doors aren’t locked. Secondly, there are no posted hours anywhere on that building, last I checked. I’ve been in that building late on a Friday night before, and no one had a problem with it then. Thirdly, there were OTHER STUDENTS in that building and none of them were asked to leave.

So basically, they blew a lot of smoke at us, but no fire. We didn’t break in, we didn’t damage anything in the building, and you got nothing. Quit wasting your time and go actually catch some bike thieves for once.

Anyway, now that I have that rant out of my system…the wedding was beautiful. Earle-Harrison House in Waco is truely a lovely spot. The gazebo where they had the ceremony was swarming with ladybugs, hilariously enough. They were crawling all over the groomsmen and bridesmaids, but it still went great. And Kelley, I take back every bad thing I said about those brown tuxes. Those were pretty pimp, I gotta admit.

Wishing them both the best, as always.

I would like to say thanks to Rudyard’s parents who hosted a bonfire/cookout for us on Saturday night. Had an absolute ball hanging out there with everyone, ridin’ through a dark field in Rudyard’s truck, sittin around a giant fire, watching a magnesium battery burn in said fire, and eatin’ chicken. What else could ya need?

In more nerdy news, it seems Justin is wanting to organize a D&D game that meets something like once a month, and we’ve gotten several people interested in playing, among them Lee, Josh, and Jule Bradford. Plus me, of course. This is looking like a fun opportunity to get back in to the game. I’m pretty sure I’m going to be the one doing the DM-ing. I’m excited about that, I’ve never done it regularly before, and I think it’ll be fun putting together little mini-adventures for everyone to go on. I’ve even got some ideas brewin’ in the ol’ noggin.

I did not realize this, but Josh has an incredible collection of classic point-and-click adventure games from Sierra and Lucasarts. I found this out for the first time this weekend. He even gave me all the files I’d need to run some of them, including Maniac Mansion and Sam and Max Hit The Road. I have an old CD-ROM copy of Sam and Max, but I could never get it to run on XP. That is, until I discovered a nifty app called ScummVM. SCUMM is the old utility that Lucasarts made Maniac Mansion with (it actually stands for Script Creation Utility for Maniac Mansion) and further versions of it were used to make sucessive point and click games, like Monkey Island, Loom, or the aformentioned Sam and Max. ScummVM basically creates an environment within XP in which these games can be run perfectly (VM = Virtual Machine). I played through Sam and Max again for the past couple of days, and man it’s so much fun, and still hilarious. If you have any of these old games, or were a fan and might like to play them again, go download ScummVM and see what it’s compatible with. You can probably find a lot of the old games online as freeware, or talk to Josh about getting some of them.

Well I think that’s it for me. Talk to ya’ll later, and Merry Christmas!

funny pictures

    • The Sojourner
    • January 8th, 2008

    D&D without me? ARE YOU SERIOUS!!!!!?????I think I might cry. Belmara, yeah, she’s crying. But she’s the coolest half moon elf EVER!!!! Ok, I’m done

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

