8944. Seriously.

Day 2 of 2008. Day 1 back at work. Day 8944 in the life of the Bmatt.

As you can imagine, after being off for around 2 weeks, I had a bit of catching up to do. But thankfully we set up some automated tools to keep track of stuff over the shutdown, so they helped a lot. Still, all sorts of great problems arose that we now have to take care of. Hopefully they won’t affect the schedule too badly, although I’m not sure how they COULDN’T. Sigh. Ah well.

Yes I realize that paragraph is extremely vague. I’m not sure how much detail I should go into, from a legal standpoint, so I choose to err on the side of caution.

So, yeah, I have to give some serious love out to Chris and Kelley Stone. Because they very graciously let me stay in their home for two nights and hosted a New Year’s party there as well. Kelley even made me tacos. And they were yummy. Thanks, you guys. I really appreciate it, a lot.

Josh, being awesome, got me the three Star Wars books, including Fury, from the Legacy of the Force series. So far, I have mixed feelings about the series in general. I’m not really sure they’ve made a very clear cut distinction in why Jacen Solo has become a Sith Lord. I read the later books and I find my mind reeling, wondering “How again did Jacen get to this point?” Perhaps I just need to reread the earlier books to get a feel for it again. I still just have a hard time reconciling the earlier portrayals of him with the cruel Lord of the Sith he’s become. I suppose that’s what makes him such a memorable villain.

Still, with two of my favorite characters now dead (Anakin Solo and Mara Jade Skywalker), the best newly developed romance seemingly completely shot (Jaina Solo and Jagged Fel), and the fact that no one can seem to stop Troy Denning from writing more Star Wars books, the last two in this Legacy of the Force series had better end very very well, or I may stop reading Star Wars novels set in the future beyond this series chronologically altogether. I got a little jaded by New Jedi Order (though it ended well), was completely disgusted with the Swarm War trilogy (absolutely pathetic follow up to everything that happened at the end of NJO, Troy Denning owes us all an apology for those abominations), and am waiting for something really really good to happen in Legacy, still, and it’s only got 2 more books to do it in. I seriously need to see Jaina and Jag finally realize they do love each other and are meant to be (which is what was supposed to happen post NJO, but Denning is an idiot), Ben Skywalker step up and show that he is worthy of carrying on the Skywalker name, and Jacen to fall from power in a truly spectacular way, either getting killed by Ben, or by being ultimately redeemed, or both, like his grandfather.

I’ll be disappointed with anything less than that, I really will. And the sat part is, Denning is doing the finale, so it’s almost impossible for me to have any sort of high hopes about it. Maybe he’ll prove me wrong. I seriously hope so.

Anyway, that’s all from me for today. I’ll catch ya’ll later, time to take the Christmas tree down (sigh)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

