A little bit of in character writing based on the events of Half-Life 2: Episode 2

Attention, all members of the so-called Universal Union, or as we know you, the Combine.

I have had enough.

10 years ago, I was nothing more than a research associate at a top-secret facility, Black Mesa. I believe you know the name. I reported to work one fateful day, and my life has not been my own since.

It seemed a normal enough day. Being a simple associate, it was part of my duty to do the “grunt work”, which on that day, meant pushing a crystalline specimen into an anti-mass spectrometer, so that tests could be run on it.

Well, I’m sure you know what happened from there. Beings from another dimensional world invaded Black Mesa, forcing me to adapt, to survive. I killed more living creatures that day than I could hope to remember. My own government sent in soldiers to kill me, but I survived. I had to kill so many of them…to this day it makes me sick to think about it. I invaded the dimension, known as Xen, the “border world”, where these creatures came from, and I killed their leader. The Nihilanth, as I later learned it was called. And our mutual enemy, as I also later learned.

Despite all of this, I never really escaped from Black Mesa. Not on my own.

Because, you see, someone, and I’m beginning to think someTHING might be a more appropriate term, saved me. Pulled me out of there, into a place I still do not understand. This man offered me “employment”. I don’t know with whom, but I also did not have a real choice. It was accept his offer, or die. Well, I did what I had done this whole day. I survived.

The next thing I know, I’m seeing this man’s face again, asking me to wake up. I wake up 10 years later, and find a world I do not know.

I manage to, despite your efforts, make contact with my friends. I eventually learn what has happened since I’ve been “missing”. The portal storms ripping through Earth. You invaded us. The Seven Hour War. We surrender, you move in and begin to transform our world and our race in your own image. I doubt I need to recount this for you.

Dr. Breen, my old administrator, no doubt made you aware of my reappearance, and what sort of threat I might pose to you. So you tired to send your soldiers to kill me, while I simply tried to get away. Get to my friends. Find out more of what the hell was going on.

You failed. I made it all the way to what was Black Mesa East, home of my old colleague, Eli Vance, and you couldn’t kill me. You invaded Black Mesa East, captured Eli, but you missed me. I invaded your butcher’s house, Nova Prospekt. Surely you remember that place, yes? You tore apart human beings who resisted you, and turned them into walking horrors. Well, you used to, rather. Because thanks to myself and my dear friend, Eli’s daughter, Alyx, Nova Prospekt is now a smoldering crater. And with that little act of vandalism, the uprising against you began.

You should have realized after we took your Overwatch Nexus that you couldn’t kill me. After I brought down four of your three-legged walking death machines, the Striders. After I tore through your precious citadel. Even when your puppet, Dr. Breen, couldn’t hold me, you should have realized you could not stop me.

After we destroyed your tunneling device in the Citadel, yes you remember that, I presume? It was, after all, the event that precipitated the destruction of the blasted thing, this man, appears out of nowhere again, to take control of my life, away from the people I care about, again.

But this time, he fails.

I presume you are aware of the Vortigaunts by this point. Once slaves to the Nihilanth, now free, and fighting by our side. They know much, an understanding of the universe that I pray, when this is over, I can sit down with them and do what I, as a scientist, do best. Learn. That’s the truth, by the way. I’m just a scientist. I’m no soldier. Just a man forced to be something by circumstances. That’s what you have not been able to kill. Just an ordinary man. Think of what the rest of us can do with that. I hope it gives you pause.

The Vortigaunts save me, somehow. I don’t understand it, obviously. I don’t understand what this man or thing is that they have saved me from. But do you know what I did next?

I went back into your precious citadel and stopped it from blowing up. Well, delayed it really. Long enough to get more of the resistance out of the City. And long enough for me and Alyx to steal some precious data from you. Data you could only send back to wherever the hell it is you came from by blowing your now-doomed citadel.

You couldn’t have that, could you. You tried so hard to kill us. But at every turn, you failed. We evaded you. Killed everything you sent after us. Got out of the city before your citadel blew and irradiated the whole place. We made it all the way throughout the countryside, evading you, escaping every trap you set us in.

Your little Hunters were almost successful in killing Alyx. But our Vortigaunt friends saved her. And all you ended up doing, in the end, was making her stronger for it.

Did it hurt your pride, when we made it to the White Forest rocket base? When we used the very data we stole from you to launch a rocket into space and close the superportal you tried to open by blowing the Citadel? Did it cause you despair when your virtual battalion of Striders and Hunters couldn’t destroy the base and prevent that launch, because the Resistance, led by me, wiped every one of them out?

It must have, because your Advisors invaded us after that. And you killed Eli Vance, right in front me and his own daughter. You almost killed me, but you seem to not be very adept at that.

So now, here we are. You’re cut off, stuck here on Earth, and wherever it is you come from can’t help you for the time being. I’m here, at White Forest, comforting my closest friend, my partner, and a woman I am falling in love with, because her father was brutally killed in front of her, by you. That’d be enough for any other man to send you this message. But there’s more than that.

You see, I haven’t forgotten whoever pulled me out of Xen. The one who tried to pull me out of the Citadel, had not the Vortigaunts saved me from him. I almost thought I was free of him, until he very recently reminded me he was still there. He gave a message to Alyx to give to Eli, subconsciously of course. I was there when she did it. She didn’t even know what she was doing. But Eli, he knew.

He talked to me after it happened. He KNEW who this man was. Finally, I was going to find out what had happened to my life. Who or what this thing was.

We didn’t have time to talk about it then, we had a rocket to launch, and your superportal to close. Which, if you forgot, we succeeded in doing.

But now, I will never have that chance. The one man who could unravel the mystery of everything that happened to me, you killed. My friend, my mentor, and possibly my savior.

So now that you have heard all this, I hope you understand the gravity of what you have done.

My fellow humans call me “The One Free Man, the Opener of the Way”. But I am anything but. I might have been, if not for you.

I have had enough. Too long my life has been meddled with by this outside force. Too long you parasites have fed upon my planet and warped my people. Too long has this veil been over my eyes. It ends now.

My name is Dr. Gordon Freeman.

Before my life is ended, I will see to it that every last Combine soldier on Earth is dead. Every combine machine, destroyed. Every one of your biotechnologial monsters, dead. And most especially of all, every one of your vile Advisors will pay for Eli’s life with their own.

The time of the Combine ends now. This is your only warning.

I am coming.

//end transmission

    • Mommason
    • January 12th, 2008

    OMG, I can’t believe you wrote all this. Why don’t you try in your spare time to write a best selling novel and make us a ton of money?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

