Like a Champion.

Hey all.

I know it’s been a while, but aside from work, not a whole lot going on. Quite a bit of WoW Playing, I suppose, but a lot of prayer and preparation has been going into something else. Something I’m very excited to be a part of

You all might recall that back in the summer of 2005, myself, David Butler, Truett Butler, and Robert Peugh set out to the Mountains of New Mexico, in a town called Eagle Nest. There we stayed for a solid week, being in fellowship together and working on a music project.

We dubbed it “an experimental worship album”. Basically, it consisted of scripture read to music, all thematically connected. When we set out, all we had was a name and some song ideas. The name was “This is Love”.

By the week’s end, we had an album that took you through the creation story, the results of man’s sin, prophecies of Christ, the Passion, the joy of redemption, and praises to His name.

I may be biased because I did the percussion work, but I seriously LOVE how this album turned out. I cannot tell you how AWESOME it is that this all just came together in one week. I don’t know how we did it, other than to simply say it was God. I wish I had it online so I could share it with you, unless you have it already. Sadly, I do not.

I’ve done two ska albums with these same guys (and five other members, heh) but I think this might just be some of the best music we’ve ever done. You can even click here to learn more about it in a post of mine from 2006.

Well, all that is to say: We’re doing it again.

In about 2-3 hours, Dave, Truett, Rob, and new member Holland will be here to pick me up, and we’re driving all night to Eagle Nest to place our talents and our entire week in the hands of God, hoping to come out with something really good that people will be blessed by.

We’re calling it “Like a Champion”.

It’s from Psalm 19
1 The heavens declare the glory of God;
the skies proclaim the work of his hands.

2 Day after day they pour forth speech;
night after night they display knowledge.

3 There is no speech or language
where their voice is not heard.

4 Their voice goes out into all the earth,
their words to the ends of the world.
In the heavens he has pitched a tent for the sun,

5 which is like a bridegroom coming forth from his pavilion,
like a champion rejoicing to run his course.

We’re a little more prepared this time, I think. We have a couple of tunes kind of set in stone already, and an idea for how the theme is going to play out, but it’s no less God using us, we hope. It’s been our prayer since we decided to do this.

To all of you reading this: I ask you to please be praying for us. For our safety as we travel. For our week to be productive and enjoyable. For God’s hand to be on this album. For us to get our selves out of the way and just be used by the almighty. More than anything, for that one.

I’ll be gone all week. God willing, I will return with great stories, great anticipation for what I hope is a great project, and LOTS of awesome photos.

I love ya guys, and I’ll see you sson.

    • Kwil
    • July 6th, 2008

    hey! So i’m horrible at keeping up with your blog and stuff. Sorry about your WoW stuff, even though i barely know anything about rpgs (any kind lol, minus a little D&D) hope you had fun in NM…. and all that good stuff. oh, just so you don’t wonder why i odn’t update blogs that much… i do, just not xanga or blogger LOL. well. i’m gone… blessings friend!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

