Like a Champion – or as much of it as I can tell you right now, anyway

Greetings my friends.

As you’re all probably aware, I recently came home from my second trip to New Mexico to record a worship album. You’re probably familiar with the first one: This is Love.

If you’re not, This is Love is/was/however you like to look at it/ an experimental worship project. It was spun out of my ska band, Monkeywrench. Specifically, our song, Strength for Stephanie.

Strength for Stephanie was a song asking God to be with Stephanie Maddox, a friend of all of ours who was in China, serving the Lord. The Bridge of the song consisted of a horn composition, driven primarily by Sam Shannon on the saxophone. During this part, David read the first part of Psalm 139, specifically verses 1-12. It was a particularly powerful little section.

Two years after that song’s release (as a part of Monkeywrench’s second CD, Album the Two: Now We’re Getting Somewhere), four members of Monkeywrench took a trip during the summer of 2005 into the mountains of New Mexico: David Butler, Truett Butler, Robert Peugh, and myself. Our purpose was to get away from the city, into God’s natural creation, and record an album called “This is Love”. You might recognize the title, it’s the first part of 1 John 4: 10.

“This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.”

The overall theme of the album is just that. The album takes you from creation, to the fall, to the prophecy of the Messiah, to his death, his resurrection, and our Joy and Hope.

It was a great experience, and the album, of everything I’ve done, is easily my favorite one that I’ve ever been a part of.

If you haven’t heard it, let me know. I’ve got a few copies left, and I believe my brother Josh Henry has the full album on his computer. A few other people left in Waco may still have copies as well. I think Chris and Kelley might. If you have the chance to listen to it, I hope you enjoy it and that God speaks to you through it somehow. That’s really the whole point of it after all.

So, onto this past week. We went back. This time, we took another. David’s wife, Holland. She, as it turns out, is a musician herself.

This particular album returned to the original roots: The Psalms. They were, after all, songs to God themselves. We explored the many themes present in the Psalms, including….well, I don’t think I can tell you that. I’ll let you hear it for yourself once the album is done!

What I can say is this: With this album, we have explored some very different music. After hearing what we laid down, even roughly mixed as it was, I have never, ever heard anything like it. I’m truly amazed at what God put together with us. I really think you will be too.

The album, as you doubtless all know, is titled “Like a Champion”. It’s from Psalm 19, specifically verse 5, though I encourage you to read the whole Psalm as well.

I’ll keep you updated with the status of the project as I know it. But right now, David has the final tasks to perform: the arduous process of mixing and mastering the album to it’s final polished state. It’s not quite over yet. Be in prayer for him, if you think about it.

I’ll see you all on the flipside. We did take a lot of pictures, and I’ll show them to you all here and on Facebook as I get them.

That’s it for me. Night.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

