Version the Two

Welcome to Conflagration Version 2, my friends. My blog has a new home at WordPress.com. Why the switch, you ask? Well, we needed a refresh, so to speak. We needed a new look, a new tagline, but most of all, a new host. WordPress has a LOT of options for blogs that Blogspot was seriously lacking. So we’ve moved and set up shop here. Hopefully this change will mean more posts for sure.

So, as you can see, we’ve got a new look around the place. The Particular WordPress theme I picked has quite a few color options, I might be messing with them a bit over the coming days, or trying out new themes entirely. Hopefully everything was moved over correctly. Let me know if you like it or not, as well.

Karen and I will be celebrating six months together on the 15th. Yeah I know, half a year? Trust me, it’s a very important milestone for both of us. It’s the longest relationship either of us has had in a long time, and it shows no signs at all of going anywhere. I’m thrilled, so so very much, to be with someone so amazing. I have to say that I can’t stop thinking about the times we shared as friends in college, and how strange yet wonderful it is to be in love with her. I sometimes wonder if that’s weird or not. I suppose since it continuously reminds me of the time we’ve had together, and thus continuously brings to mind all of the feelings I have for her, it’s probably not.  And I know what question is now forming on all of your lips, and you can button em right now! That will come when it comes, and you can all know about it as soon as it does! Until then, you ask, I thwap ya.

Finally, let’s end this with a quick discussion of the iPad. You’re all, I hope, familiar with the device by this point. If you’re not, what bloody rock have you been living under? Go research it. Apple.com/ipad is a good place to start, or look it up on CNET.com and possibly Wikipedia. Do it now, I’ll wait.

Okay, all caught up? I’ll thwap you if you haven’t! Okay, so what do you think?

I have to admit, I was unimpressed at first with the feature set. It seems to me, at first blush, to be nothing but a large iPod Touch with the extra features of an e-Book reader and the ability to buy/use Apple’s iWork office suite. Not really a terribly compelling set of extra features. Plus it’s missing Flash support (take that as bad or good as you like), no camera features (no external facing one for taking photos/video or internal facing for videoconferencing use), and the 3G models are STILL tied to AT&T.  And while the 3G data plans, which require no contract, are fairly inexpensive, I’m struggling to understand WHY the 3G receiver has to cost an additional $130?

All those issues aside…I can kind of imagine myself using one around the house, where it’d be impractical to take my laptop, which as a gaming machine, is rather large. It’s still portable enough to take with me to other locations, but for around the house computing, it’s somewhat impractical. This, as a mobie internet and personal media device, with the side ability to edit office documents, could prove useful, especially with the larger screen and supposed 10 hour battery life. The Flash support still worries me though. I would LOVE to see a Netflix streaming app for this where I could browse and watch movies/TV shows. Same for Hulu.com, as well as the many network-independant sites (CBS springs to mind: I LOVE CSI: NY, NCIS, and several other shows on that network). If we got something like that on the iPad, I’d be sold. Right now, all we’ve got is Youtube, which is coverting from Flash to HTML5 anyway.

Right now, I’m not sold on it to spend the money. I want some real world examples of how the battery life is going and I need to see some apps that take advantage of the iPad’s features. Maybe then we’ll see about it.

Frankly, I also want to hear if they’re coming out with a new iPhone model or not. My Contract’s up soon, and if I’m going to upgrade to the iPhone 3GS, only to have a newer model come out a month later, I’m going to be hacked off. Come on Apple, let’s hear what you have planned there, eh??

That’s it for now. Enjoy the new site everyone, talk to you soon.

    • Karen
    • February 9th, 2010

    You goof.

    I love you.

    The end 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

