Dark Lord of the…Hurricane Harbor?

Hey folks.

Had a three day weekend with my lady love. We had an excellent time at Hurricane Harbor, though our shoulders did get a SLIGHT bit burned, the rest of us did not. That’s quite remarkable for me, given that I usually come out of waterparks with sunburned neck, shoulders, face, ears, arms, and the top of my feet. She made me reapply a couple of times during the day, so I guess that did it, heh. She’s way too good to me. We’re definitely going again at least once more this summer, so those of you who are around or can get to the DFW area, let me know if you wanna come with!

We also saw A-Team on Monday. And it was amazing. Several times I found myself looking at Karen saying “This is best move EVER!” And while that may be an exaggeration, slightly, it was both incredibly well-written and well acted. The dialogue had me laughing at numerous points throughout. I’ve only seen a couple of episodes of the original show, so I couldn’t tell you for sure if they captured the proper spirit of it, but on it’s own, I think it delivered very well. The action and special effects was, at many points, over-the-top ridiculous levels of crazy, but it was so much fun, I didn’t care. I enjoyed every second of it, and can’t wait to see it again!

If you’ve been paying attention to the tech news world lately, you’re probably aware that the Electronic Entertainment Expo, also known as E3, is going on right now. This is pretty much the biggest videogame convention in the world, and it’s the place to show off new things coming in the gaming world. There’s a TON of stuff that could be talked about, including the Nintendo 3DS, or Microsoft’s new Kinect platform for the 360, but I’m not as excited by those, not yet anyway. No, perhaps the coolest thing to me that’s come out of E3 thus far is the news about Star Wars: The Old Republic. This is the second Star Wars MMORPG that will be available to consumers (the abysmally bad Star Wars Galaxies being the first), and this one looks phenomenal. It’s being made by BioWare, the developers of the highly acclaimed Star Wars RPGs Knights of the Old Republic and Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords, and set in that same time. Players can pick one of two factions to join, the Galactic Republic or the Sith Empire, each of which has 4 classes available to players. BioWare has a very good reputation as a company for making games that are legitimately fun, so I have high hopes for this game to not fall into the same sorts of mistakes that tend to plague MMORPGs.

I suppose now the only only question is, will you join me as the Sith conquer the galaxy, or will you side with the Jedi slime and be exterminated? Heheh.

Here’s a trailer that debuted at E3. Watch and be excited!

Last night, I finally subscribed to Tom Merritt’s new podcast on the TWiT Network, Tech News Today. It’s a daily Tech News podcast, similar to my longtime favorite, Buzz Out Loud (which Tom Merritt formerly cohosted) from CNET. So the real question is….do I have room in my day for TWO tech news podcasts? And if not….who’s going to win the battle? The long-lived standard in this area, or the legendary host’s young upstart show? Will the battle even need to be fought? Why did I subscribe to the video version of TNT? And why is Tom’s beard so amazing?

Done for now, my friends. Talk to you soon!

    • Ishtuk
    • June 16th, 2010

    Bioware didn’t make KOTOR II ya big galoot! They liscensed it out when they began production on Neverwinter Nights II, I do believe. The developer who made it *did* follow their game notes to a T & it did follow very well with KOTOR but to my knowledge it was a different publisher.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

