Top 10 List number the one

My best friend Josh has been wanting to start a blog for some time, primarily to host and share one of his favorite things to do, which is make lists of things he likes and rank them

So in an effort to get him to finally start up said blog (which you can read at jdhjanus.wordpress.com), I promised him that every top 10 list of his own that he posted, I would make one of my own regarding the same topic. Motivation for both of us, right?

Well, he posted his first list this morning, his Top 10 favorite Disney animated films. I’m not surprised he went this route first, the man’s an avid Disney fan, and he’s made it his mission in life to own every Disney animated film (or as he insists is the correct term, “full-length animated classic”). If I’m not mistaken, he’s only missing one.

At any rate, here is my own list. My top 10 favorite Disney animated films, taken from this list on Wikipedia.

fox&hound

10 –  The Fox and the Hound.

I owned this film on VHS when I was a kid, and I loved watching it. It was heartbreaking to see two friends transcend the idea that they shouldn’t be friends because everything in the world says they shouldn’t fall victim to said societal pressures and become bitter enemies. But in the end, true friendship won out, and while things were never the same as they used to be, their friendship was still intact. I love the idea of this film essentially saying “to heck with what societal pressures say, I’m doing what’s right” and the obvious parallels to racism or other sorts of discrimination.

beautyBeast

9. Beauty and the Beast

A lot of people would rank this film much higher than I did, and there are plenty of things to like about it, especially the animation, the characters, and some of the most classic musical numbers of all Disney’s catalog. Belle paved the way for a lot of girls to realize that reading and learning was an ideal to shoot for, and lets face it, Lumiere and Cogsworth are awesome. However, I’m just not as big a fan of the overall plot as I am other Disney Films. Still, it’s a top ten for me, easily.

mulan

8.  Mulan

I confess, I had never seen Mulan all the way through until relatively recently. It wasn’t that I was trying to avoid it, I just never had the opportunity. A few months back I saw Karen had recorded it on our DVR and commented that I’d never seen it.  She insisted we were watching it right then and there. It’s a spectacular film. Gorgeous animation, a story about overcoming gender roles and never giving up what you believe in, Eddie Murphy playing a comedic sidekick, and some of the best musical numbers in a Disney film.

herc

7.  Hercules

Okay, what’s not to love about this film?  The casting is spectacular (James Woods’ take on Hades remains my favorite Disney Villain ever), the narrative structure is awesome, and any kid who told you that Meg was awesome was LYING! Lovely and smartmouthed? Be still my heart.

aladdin

6. Aladdin

Oh man, what a great film. Robin Williams at the Genie alone catapults it to a whole different level on its own, but the whole package is amazing. Some of the most imaginative animation and story I’d ever seen to that point. It’s got an epic action story, great humor, and spawned some good sequels (which usually didn’t happen with Disney films, heh)

wreckitralph

5. Wreck-It Ralph

Oh man. SO MANY VIDEOGAME REFERENCES. I was in nerd heaven when I caught this film. It doesn’t hurt that it has a truly heartwarming and imaginative story and some fantastic animation to go along with it either. I love this film. It makes me want to hit up the nearest arcade again and go have a blast. I’m hoping there’s a sequel in the works, because this is a film that merits it, and there’s so many different worlds and stories they could tell.

Bolt

4. Bolt

I have a soft spot for adorable dogs. I have a fondness for superheroes. So what happens when you take the two and combine them together (or so the premise of the film will tell you)? YOU GET AWESOME THAT’S WHAT! Okay, so yeah, Bolt isn’t really a superhero dog, and the film is really a combination of a “Homeward Bound” story and Bolt discovering the difference between reality and fantasy and his place in the former, but you know what? It’s still awesome and adorable, and the ending is heartwarming. I love it.

treasure planet

3. Treasure Planet

I will never understand why this movie wasn’t more successful. IT’S PIRATE SCIENCE FICTION! It’s….wait for it….PI-SCI-FI! That’s a term. I’m trademarking it, every time you use it, you owe me a quarter. That genre’s the wave of the future, I say. But seriously, the premise of this film is fantastic. Let’s take Treasure Island and throw it in a Science Fiction setting! Let’s build this world using a retro science fiction style that still bears an unmistakable resemblance to the classic imagery of pirate ships, but IN SPACE! A truly epic and grandiose film that is severely underrated.

Emperors

2. The Emperor’s New Groove.

Okay, watch this film with a group of friends, and just TRY not to quote scenes from it for the next week every time you’re together. You can’t. It’s not possible. You know why? Because this film has some of the best. writing. ever. It has some of the best casting ever doing an amazing job with said writing. And it’s just non-stop funny. I love it!

And the number one Disney film for me is….

lion king

1. The Lion King.

This is the best complete package of a Disney movie. It has it all. Humor, amazing songs, a story that rings true no matter when you see it, amazing animation, a great cast (James Earl Jones? Heck yes), it’s a total package of awesome. There is not a single part of this film that I do not love.

That’s my top 10 list. I’m looking forward to the next list you come up with, Josh. Perhaps we can eventually start taking turns where one of us makes a list, then the other one replies with their version, and another top 10 for a different topic not long after? Who knows.

By the way, I say you do top 10 videogame characters next. Just a suggestion.

If you have any comments or think I’m smoking something over my rankings, just a-lemme-know!

  1. Reblogged this on Josh's List of Lists and commented:
    Brandon and I are going to be sharing lists off one another, so, this is is a collection of lists anyways, I wanted to go ahead and share his post here. A fantastic read! 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

